Maryland Patriot Stangs & Fords
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!

3 posters

Go down

Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!  Empty Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!

Post by Dominican7 Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:59 pm

So I swapped my GT brakes with some 10th Anniversary Cobra calipers /13" Rotors.  I swapped them out as directed through many right ups and tutorials.  I cannot get them to work.  I bled the brakes as directed using a one man brake bleeding kit form auto zone.  I bled the brakes until there was no more bubbles but the pressure went away.  I have never done this before and now my car is stuck in my garage.  I can stop the car but only when I put the brake pedal to the floor.  I can't seem to get the brakes right and I am sure I am not doing something right.  Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!  20541 

If anyone is available and has done these swaps before that can help let me know.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.  

FYI, there is no fluid leaking from the brake lines so I know I got that part right.  Again any help will be appreciated. Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!  434531
Dominican7
Dominican7
Super Charger
Super Charger

Number of posts : 2023
Registration date : 2008-12-22

Back to top Go down

Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!  Empty Re: Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!

Post by SVT_N8 Mon Jul 07, 2014 1:15 pm

you can disconnect the line from the caliper until fluid comes out, then reconnect and clean up. Just make sure you got plenty of fluid in the reservoir or you will have to start all over again. then you can bleed the caliper. Make sure your brake master cylinder is good as well. Good luck
SVT_N8
SVT_N8
Super Charger
Super Charger

Number of posts : 4102
Registration date : 2008-01-28

Back to top Go down

Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!  Empty Re: Did a swap and now I have no Brakes!!!